To trademark/copyright or not?

Hello, everyone!

I have been researching the idea of protecting the name of my support group as we have plans for expanding and getting involve more on a national level. As you all know, a lot of time is put in on my group, which is is now 7 years old.

There have been a few folks trying to start other groups in our name (as if they are affiliated), and although they usually flop, it’s concerning when you are trying to build a solid reputation.

Has anyone ever copyrighted or trademarked their “brand”? What tips do you have to protect your project?

Thank you for reading!!!

3 Likes

This is a GREAT question! I bet there are a bunch of leaders here that can speak to this.

@rarecandace would you have any thoughts?

3 Likes

Thanks! I’d appreciate any input! :heart:

1 Like

Disclaimer: I have zero experience with IP in the patient advocacy/support arena. I do have a good bit of experience with IP in consumer products and such. Securing intellectual property (IP) can be frustrating, time consuming and expensive. Although not specifically required, an IP attorney is your shepherd through this landscape. You have to determine if the name/logo is protectable in the first place (it’s hard to protect general names such as Leukemia Support). After that you go through the legal process with USPTO, which is never instant. Let’s assume that you have made it this far and have your certificate from USPTO. Somebody decides to clone your site/work/logo and you want to do something about it. Will you? You pretty much need to make a commit to protect your IP every time you become aware of an infringement. That can get pricey. And if you let some slide, while going after others… You’ll make it very difficult to enforce your rights and you may even risk losing them. I can point you in the right direction with some IP attorneys that I trust if you decide to go down this path.

1 Like